Air Malta - the National Air Carrier

Air Malta was set up by a Resolution of the Maltese Parliament on March 21, 1973 and was registered as a limited liability company on March 30, 1973.  The previous day, the Prime Minister, as Minister for Civil Aviation, granted the company an Air Service Licence valid for ten years with effect from April 1, 1973.

The licence was granted subject to the condition that the ownership and control of the airline would, at all times, be held and exercised by the Government of Malta and/or by citizens of Malta and/or by companies incorporated under the laws of Malta and controlled by citizens of Malta.

Air Malta was formed with assistance of Pakistan International Airlines (PIA).  The share capital was authorised at Lm750,000 of which Lm530,000 were issued - 51% by Air Malta and 20% by PIA.  The rest, 29%. was initially unsubscribed.

Air Malta started flying operations with two wet-leased Boeing 720Bs (AP-AMG & AP-AMJ) from PIA on April 1, 1974, with scheduled services to London, Birmingham, Manchester, Rome, Frankfurt, Paris and Tripoli.

Today, Air Malta operates a fleet of eight dry-leased Airbus A320 Family aircraft, one A319 and seven A320s.


- Direct routes f/t Malta IAP operated by Air Malta:

Amsterdam-Schipol (1), Brussels (2,3), Catania-Fontanarossa (4,5), Comiso^, Dusseldorf (6), Frankfurt (6), London-Gatwick, London-Heathrow (3),  Milan-Linate (4,5), Moscow-Sheremetyevo (8), Munich-Franz Josef Strauss (6), Palermo-Punta Raisi (4,5), Paris-Charles de-Gaulle (7), Paris-Orly (7), Prague-Ruzyne*, Rome-Fiumicino (4,5), Tel Aviv, Tunis, Vienna (9) and Zurich (10).

* up to 18-Nov-17
^ starts on 17-Dec-17

- Direct routes t/f Malta IAP operated by code-sharing partners:  
Istanbul-Ataturk (11) and Larnaca (12).

Code-sharing partners:  
KLM (1), Brussels Airlines (2), Etihad Airways (3), Meridiana (4), Alitalia (5), Lufthansa (6), Air France (7), Aeroflot (8), Austrian Airlines (9), SWISS (10), Turkish Airlines (11), and Emirates (12).